Tried and True: Frederic Fekkai Apple Cider

ffshamp

I remember when Herbal Essences first came out (not to be confused with the original version, Herbal Essence, singular, in the dark green bottle with the blonde girl on the front). I was in fifth grade, sixth maybe, and it seemed like every girl in school smelled like the shampoo. I so desperately wanted to smell like the masses, but I’ve always had very, very, very thick hair that just doesn’t hold on to scented shampoos. I remember literally dunking strands of my hair into the Herbal Essences bottle, hoping beyond hope that total saturation would equal prolonged fragrance. (It didn’t.)

I wouldn’t find a scented shampoo that lived up to its name until I was in my twenties. I was lamenting to a girlfriend that I would never be one of those girls with memorably scented hair – you know how in books the boy always mentions how the girl has great smelling hair? Or how in the super-cliched high school movie the most popular, prettiest girl in school has strawberry scented hair or some crap? No?

Well anyway, I was complaining to my friend when the  Sephora makeup artist overhears and mentions she has a solution for me. I groan inwardly because I hate playing the “Oh, yes, it’s very nice! Well, I’ll have to think about it. Maybe next time. ” game with salespeople. I hate pretending I like something when I don’t. And I can’t just tell the truth! That might hurt their feelings!

So she leads me over to Frederic Fekkai’s section and I’m immediately wary – his products are notoriously high quality and therefore, expensive! Well, for me, at least. But then she thrusts a bottle of Apple Cider Clarifying Shampoo under my nose. In a word: yum.

ffconIt smells like candy. No, that’s not it. Apples and … some childhood memory? The beach? My mom’s perfume? I’m not entirely sure. All I know is I’m in love. I shell out the $26 each for the shampoo and conditioner and hurry home to wash my hair.

And miracle of miracles, the scent stays! It last the entire day, all the way until my hair fully dries. (My hair is so thick that if I don’t spend the 54 million hours it takes to blow-dry, it can take up to 8 hours to fully air-dry. Seriously.)

(Sorry that sentence was so awkward.)

I am beyond thrilled. I’ve finally found a scented shampoo that actually lingers in my hair. I spend five minutes flipping my hair around in a pathetic attempt for attention. Finally Carlos bites. Wow, what smells like a popular high school cheerleader?

Hmpf. That’s the last time I share my deepest, darkest secrets with him.

Tried and True ratings:

Price: 3/5 stars

At $26 a bottle, it’s expensive! Especially when you can buy shampoo at CVS for less than five dollars. But so, so worth the price. And if used sparingly, they can last a long time.

Scent: 5/5 stars

While I’m willing to bet that there are going to be people who won’t like the smell of this shampoo, I’m willing to bet more that there are more people who will love it. YUM!

Does it live up to its promise?: 5/5 stars

Scent aside, this shampoo/conditioner duo is supposed to be clarifying, removing unwanted residue and build-up without stripping hair of moisture. My hair feels very clean without feeling too tight or rubbery. If I use them once a week they keeps me build-up free and shiny!`

Leave a Reply

