For the scary storyteller in your life

From Josh’s Mindhouse.

I REMEMBER these books! I LOVED these books.

As soon as I saw this cover I was flooded with memories of the creepy stories that lie within these pages … and the even creepier illustrations!

There are several books in this series (More Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, Scary Stories 3: More Stories to Chill Your Bones, etc.) and I used to own them all.

“Scary Stories” was written for people who like to tell ghost stories, be it at a sleepover or a campfire or wherever. There are italicized directions at certain parts to aid you in your quest to scare. For example, in several stories you are instructed to jump up and yell something at a particularly climatic scene.

Most of the stories are fairly short, and you probably have heard some of them before: in one story that I can barely remember a man finds a young girl waiting at a bus stop (or something). He offers to take her home but when he gets there her parents inform him that their daughter has been (gasp!) dead for several years. The man turns around but the girl has vanished.

I believe I was 9 when I first picked up this book and to be honest, some of the stories scared the crap out of me. I am excited to read them again and will probably be buying the boxed set. I encourage you to do the same. If you have a young reader at home (older than eight, perhaps) who likes scary stories, they will love these books.

Leave a Reply

