Post #37: Mental Floss

What’s your favorite magazine? Mine’s Mental Floss.

Ever since I got laid off from my low-paying but seriously beloved assistant editor job, I have had to cut back on some items now deemed overtly indulgent.

One of those casualties was my favorite publication, Mental Floss. A second runner up, but by a long shot, would be either Real Simple or Entertainment Weekly. And then maybe, maybe Glamour.

I’ve never been into fashion (yikes – in Girl World, admitting that fact is almost sinful) but Glamour has a nice balance of  the lifestyle pieces I enjoy and the fashion spreads that I always skip. The girls are never my body type – I’m  5’3″ and between 108 – 115 pounds, depending, and I have short legs and big hips. Above all, though, I generally find the clothes … weird and unattractive. At least for me.

What’s your favorite magazine?

As I am writing this, I’m starting to reconsider the 20-something dollar subscription to Mental Floss hardly seems like much. And I used to get so excited when I saw those colorful covers in my mailbox.

That’s it. I’m going to go re-subscribe right now!

 

 

Leave a Reply

