Makeup List! Books 5-10

Quick excuse: family emergency, no time for essential daily tasks like eating and sleeping, let alone time for blogging.

Quick make-up list:

5. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein … because well, come on. That damn tree used to make me so sad and angry at the same time. “Stick up for yourself!” I would tearfully yell. “Drop one of those apples right on that little brats head!”

4. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy … because a) it really is a good book, and holds its own even today, and b) because having read it means I can truthfully say I’ve read Tolstoy, without having to read that, you know, other one.

3. Tell Me Where It Hurts by Dr. Nick Trout … because a) I literally just finished reading it before starting this blog entry, and because b) I enjoyed it!

2. The BFG by Roald Dahl … I hate having to rush this one but I will make up for it by including many other Roald Dahl books in my list. It should be a law that every child has to read at least one Roald Dahl book before they turn twelve. Agreed?

1. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult … because after much thought, I’ve decided to include a couple of books that I, well, hated. And boy, did I hate this book. I would read it and slam it down in disgust, then faithfully pick it up again after a few hours, hopeful that it would get better. It didn’t. I finished it in an angry snit, so upset that I went online and found other people who loathed it as much as I did. Bitching and complaining about it did make me feel a bit better, but then the next week my mother, bless her heart, called me to tell me she was reading this new book, and oh, how she was enjoying it, and how I should really read it. Ten guesses on which book it was. The point is, books are like songs, like movies, like everything in life. Some will love it, cherish and adore it, while others despise its very existence. I don’t want this list to be marred by my judgement, though, and so I include this book.

Leave a Reply

